Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

BAHA cannot be a private members'club

andybaha

Jan 3, 2007
Piddinghoe
I'm pretty new to North Stand Chat and I am enjoying it immensely. However I find there seems to be incredible competition among some contributors to be the Albion's 'best' fan, and an attitude of contempt towards those fans (if they deserve to call themselves fans) who aren't season ticket holders. I feel some STH resent the pay by game fans. In March this year I will have been attending Albion matches for 35 years. In all this time I have never been a STH. My attendance has varied from every home game in the late 70s to a period of about five years when work committments meant I only got to see the occassional evening game. Currently I attend the majority of home games with my 10 year old son. I have never stopped being a fan though.

Martin Perry is taking some stick for the balls up that was the ticket allocation for West Ham, but deep down the powers that be are breathing a big sigh of relief that thousands of people are still interested. Yes of course those people that show the committment to purchase a season ticket should have been rewarded for their loyalty. But without the thousands of floating fans many of whom don't attend matches on a regular basis, Falmer is going to be a massive white elephant. If we are still playing in Div 3 (in old money) or worse how many do you think will turn up to see Cheltenham on a cold, wet Saturday in December? My guess is not many more than would turn up at Withdean. If we are playing Southampton in the Championship in August the ground hopefully will be heaving and if we draw Man U in the cup, the game could be sold out several times over. What do you know? Football fans are fickle.