Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

Teachers demand 10% pay rise in the middle of a recession

Robdinho

Jul 26, 2004
I bet you don't get 13 weeks holiday a year either!

A lot of my friends are teachers and yes, they do work very hard, but what they don't seem to realise, having in many cases never left the education environment, is that so do a lot of other people, often on less money than they are.

Kneon Light

Jul 24, 2003
Falkland Islands
I'm a teacher and even I find this stupid!
To be honest I think that we get paid fine now.
As long as the pay rise is in line with inflation which was what was agreed (2.3%??) than I think that is fair.
There are a lot more pressing issues for teachers at the moment than pay imo

itszamora

Go Jazz Go
Sep 21, 2003
London
I bet you don't get 13 weeks holiday a year either!

A lot of my friends are teachers and yes, they do work very hard, but what they don't seem to realise, having in many cases never left the education environment, is that so do a lot of other people, often on less money than they are.

Yes I too have a lot of teacher friends and I agree with your comment. In fact I had one just the other week gloating about her easter holiday..charming. I'm a freelance journalist at the moment so any holiday is effectively unpaid, if and when I get a contract somewhere that'll be the statutory 25 days for me!

itszamora

Go Jazz Go
Sep 21, 2003
London
As long as the pay rise is in line with inflation which was what was agreed (2.3%??) than I think that is fair.

2.3% I think yes. Certainly wouldn't begrudge you that even though many people are getting pay freezes this year. But by asking for 10% I think the NUT might have committed a massive PR gaffe.

Zebedee

Anyone seen Florence?
Jul 8, 2003
Hangleton