Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

Is there a party-pooper mentality in Lewes

Sep 30, 2006
Up in the Gods
Sorry if fixtures, but saw this on The Argus site:-

A bonfire night which attracts 70,000 revellers each year is asking visitors to stay away.

Lewes bonfire night is one of the biggest in the country but organisers say they cannot cope with the burgeoning masses of people who descend on the town.

They are making an appeal to restrict their celebrations to the 15,000 residents of Lewes. They are urging revellers from outside to find events closer to home.

Now, having been a few times, I know the place gets mobbed and you could argue their point on health & safety grounds, but in that case, as I'm a Brighton resident I'm going to protest at the number of people from Lewes travelling into Brighton and clogging up the streets & pavements!!

Same mentality. Can't believe some people. :nono:

Goring Gull

Jul 5, 2003
Huddersfield
When i lived in Lewes i used to go along - don't have much choice hardly going to get alot of sleep - but wouldn't bother if i had to drag in from elsewhere.

Napper

Jul 9, 2003
Sussex
been a few times , the number of chavs that seem to attend though seems to of gone through the roof.

Goring Gull

Jul 5, 2003
Huddersfield
Dougal said:
been a few times , the number of chavs that seem to attend though seems to of gone through the roof.

Mecca to chavs - let's be honest any excuse for them to drink and set fire to things legally - no wonder they arrive in droves.

The Clown of Pevensey Bay

Jul 5, 2003
Suburbia
They ask this every year; it's because of the massive queues for trains etc etc. Sometimes there's police advice as well.

It makes me want to ask Lewesians to stay away from the Pier and Brighton's nice shopping facilities. :angry:

The Large One

Who's Next?
Jul 7, 2003
97.2FM