Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

Euro elections - I just couldn't do it.

Uncle Spielberg

Jul 6, 2003
Lancing
I strode into the polling booth with a purpose. The slip was handed to me with 4 choices of which I could vote for 2.

Conservative
Labour
Liberal Democrat
Conservative

I was close to voting Conservative, Labour were a non starter, they might as well have not been on the slip. The pencil hovered above the tory box, I started to feel faint, sweat started to form on my forehead, my heart started to pump.

No I just couldn;'t do it, not this time anyway.

Liberal Dems for me !.

Well done, Gareth.

I assume this was an Adur District Council election.

I've only ever voted Liberal once and that was in a Macclesfield Borough Council election when I was a student and found myself visiting my parents on polling day to discover that my mother had put me down on the electoral roll.

I managed to reconcile myself to this terrible act on the grounds that:-

1. There were only two candidates (Tory and Liberal);

2. Earlier in the day, I had voted Labour in Hove.

What about Europe, though? You had a much bigger choice than just four parties.

Last edited:

the full harris said:
OAPs for me.

:jester:
What the hell is the "Senior" Citizens' Party all about?

One thing I am absolutely certain about is that the future of Europe, Britain, England, Adur District, the local darts team and EVERYTHING should be decided by junior citizens - not a bunch of people who seem to think of themselves as the nation's school prefects.

Uncle Spielberg

Jul 6, 2003
Lancing
The Euro elections I must tell you I voted UKIP.

This is a protest vote for me. BNP was a non starter because of their rascist undertones but I think the 3 main parties need a kick up the arse to awaken them from their slumber.