Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

[Help] What would you do?

spongy

Aug 7, 2011
Burgess Hill
I've been getting annoyed in my current job and decided to start looking for a new job.

I'm currently a CNC operator but the programmer before me is crap and always causing me issues. I've been telling them for the 20 months that I've been here what they're doing is wrong and nobody was listening.

I've been wanting to get into programming for ages now so decided to start applying for programmer roles in this line of work.

A week ago I was offered a new job at a firm across the road from where I am currently.

So will be going there to design, develop 3D cad models for flattening to be cut on their lasers.

A slightly higher wage and overtime @1.5 instead of my current @1.3. but less overtime available so no increase in money, just a bit more time at home.

So my ideal job basically.

The company over the road and current company are mutual customers of each other. ( I didn't know the new job would be over the road when I applied as through an agency and the interview was all a bit cloak and dagger due to the two companies relationship).

They were worried I was just using them to get a better offer from where I am currently and stated that they'd only offer the job officially once I'd handed my notice in.

I wanted it so handed in my notice. New company phoned current company to explain that they'd offered me a job to smooth things over.

Current company now panicking because I'm leaving and royally pissed off as I'm leaving for a "friend".

Current company now made a counter offer of increased pay (more than the new job) with more overtime available than the new job albeit at a slightly lower rate, and programming the lasers whilst supervising an operator that I'm currently training before I'm due to leave.

But I said I wasn't using new company to get a better offer from current company.