Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

Tax: Self Asessment

Ⓩ-Ⓐ-Ⓜ-Ⓞ-Ⓡ-Ⓐ

Hove / Παρος
Apr 7, 2006
Hove / Παρος
What a bloody palaver it is. Change address, wait 3 days, request UTR, wait 7 days, register for online self assessment, wait 7 days.

And spending at least 30 mins in a queue to speak to somebody...

Anyone else having the pleasure of Self Assessment?

Ⓩ-Ⓐ-Ⓜ-Ⓞ-Ⓡ-Ⓐ

Hove / Παρος
Apr 7, 2006
Hove / Παρος
Will definitely be doing paper versions if I'm ever self employed again. It's my first time doing it, so haven't been that on the ball. Thought doing it online would be a lot simpler to be honest. Whack in National Insurance Number, earnings, expenses and BANG, DONE. But all I've managed to do so far is request several different codes, listen to there call queue music and try to find someone with a fax machine to receive some other codes. PALAVER. FACT.

bhaexpress

Jul 7, 2003
Kent
It's a complete farce. I am registered to do mine online but as I now use a different email I can't use their system. As it is I need my UTR number (as despite requesting it for the last three years I haven't received it) and I have to call my Tax Office to get it. Thus far I have spent a fortune trying to get some basic information but from this I can only conclude that the dumbest Civil Servants work for the Inland Revenue. Tax doesn't have to be taxing but it when all the IR staff are brain dead.

Ⓩ-Ⓐ-Ⓜ-Ⓞ-Ⓡ-Ⓐ

Hove / Παρος
Apr 7, 2006
Hove / Παρος
It's a complete farce. I am registered to do mine online but as I now use a different email I can't use their system. As it is I need my UTR number (as despite requesting it for the last three years I haven't received it) and I have to call my Tax Office to get it. Thus far I have spent a fortune trying to get some basic information but from this I can only conclude that the dumbest Civil Servants work for the Inland Revenue. Tax doesn't have to be taxing but it when all the IR staff are brain dead.