Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

Pensions

Goring Gull

Jul 5, 2003
Huddersfield
bit of a boring topic really but who has a pension, private, or work related?

I have final salary one which is a very good company scheme and no longer open to new employees but i seem to be putting more and more into it, my only concern is that it may get wound up due to the current pension climate. The company have taken action to cover the additional costs but would i be better coming out of it and investing the money elsewhere? Or should i look at it as money i've never seen and not worry to much and let what will be , be?

bhafc99

Oct 14, 2003
Dubai
While you have a final salary one, I'd stick in it. You're better off than most. Most final salary schemes are now closing to new entrants, but if you've already got one then you're in a good position.

I have a personal pension. I was talked into one by my bank (Lloyds) when I graduated, and dutifully paid into it for 15 years. It was shit. The performance was crap. After 15 years it was worth less than I'd paid into it. Nver ever invest with a bnak's in-house team.

Though it cost me a lot in fees to move it, I did, to Skandia. They regularly win pension awards, and offer a scheme where you can choose any unit trust to invest your pension, any number or combination of them, change things around whenever you want as often as you want for no fee - it's brilliant. In the two years I've been with them, my pension has grown by 24% - which begins to make up for the 15 years of minus performance from Lloyds.

Gritt23

Jul 7, 2003
Meopham, Kent.
Goring Gull said:
bit of a boring topic really but who has a pension, private, or work related?