Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

Overstretched home "owners"

Arthritic Toe

Nov 25, 2005
Swindon
From today's Mirror. Do these people deserve any sympathy?

Seven years after buying their three-bedroom terraced home for £100,000, Jonty Roberts and his wife have found themselves trapped by negative equity.

"Our original mortgage was for £95,000," says Jonty, 33. "But over the years we have remortgaged three times to help pay for a new bathroom, kitchen, replastering, oak flooring, our wedding and to keep us afloat while my wife trained as a teacher and I was a student nurse. We now have a £180,000 mortgage."

In April last year the couple decided to move from Norwich to London, so the house was put up for sale for £175,000. Weeks later, and with no interest in the property, the couple were advised to reduce the asking price to £150,000.

"There was no way we could sell at that price - it wouldn't have provided us with enough to pay off the mortgage," says Jonty, an outreach worker for a local authority.

So the couple decided to rent it out. They receive £595 a month in rent against a mortgage bill of £900. In October their current mortgage deal ends and payments will rise to over £1,000 per month.

"Having to pay that £300 shortfall each month, on top of our rent in London really hurts," says Jonty. "If we didn't have to find that cash, we could spend it on a new home for ourselves or just a better standard of living."

He adds: "The good news is that prices in Norwich have gone up in the last few months and friends say our house is now worth around £155,000. But sadly it's too late for us and we've missed the boat in London where prices have risen more steeply.

Joanna Dillon bought a two-bedroom house with her boyfriend three years ago - and has been regretting it almost ever since.