Arsenal ruining the Premiership / England team

Del Boy

Oct 1, 2004
_44692259_english_premiership_466.gif

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/7417746.stm

Cheers Wenger :thumbsup:

BRIGHT ON Q

Jul 5, 2003
Yes but teams like Fulham ,Reading and Portsmouth are only averaging 2/3.Its hardly much better is it?

Oct 25, 2003
english players are overpriced, if i was a football manager i wouldn't touch any of them when you can get foreign players who are just as good for less money

darren bent cos what? £16m?! madness

Robbie G

Jul 26, 2004
Hassocks
Football players are in a competitive market. Foreign players are cheaper for a given level of ability. Wenger HAD tight funds when they were at highbury and so bought cheap players. Top work from him I'd say, to become that successful.

After all, if you had the choice of buying two cars, both giving you the same degree of satisfaction, but one was cheaper, which one would you buy?

Jul 5, 2003
Polegate
Arsenal are NOT ruining the premiership. They don't spend half as much as Chelsea and Man U. Although the players aren't necessarily English, I still respect Arsenal's policy of investing in potential talent.

Hang on, hang on.

Are you suggesting Man U/Chelsea ARE ruining the premiership, for investing in potential talent AND English players, and as a result spending more? ???

Last edited:

Simon Morgan

Oct 30, 2004
Oxford
Hang on, hang on.

Are you suggestin Man U/Chelsea ARE ruining the premiership, for investing in potential talent AND English players, and as a result spending more? ???

Hang on hang on, I don't think I actually said that anywhere. Although Man U and Chelsea buy more English players, I have more respect for Arsenal, as they tend to buy more unknown players who inevitably carry a greater risk with them. Of course Utd and Chelsea's purchase of English players helps the national team, but their inability to play as a team makes that all a bit irrelevant.

Jul 5, 2003
Polegate